Georgia Milestones End-of-Grade (EOG)

  • The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) is a comprehensive summative assessment program spanning grades 3 through high school.  Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  Students in grades 3 through 8 take an end-of-grade assessment in English Language Arts and mathematics while students in grade 5 are assessed in science and students in grade 8 are assessed in science and social studies.

    Features of the 2020-2021 Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

    • English Language Arts & Mathematics (Grades 6-8)
      • All constructed response (CR) items will be replaced with technology enhanced (TE) items in Math.
      • Some CR items will be replaced with TE items in ELA.
        • Section 1-Reading & Evidence Based Writing and Narrative Writing Prompts will remain unchanged.
        • Section 2 & 3 - Two-point CR (which assess reading comprehension) will be replaced with technology items.
    • Science & Social Studies (Grade 8)
      • These content areas will remain all selected response in 2022-2023.

    For more information visit the Georgia Department of Education.  

    EOG Resources:

    • Test Blueprints have been updated for all grades and content areas/courses. The blueprints for science and social studies reflect the reporting categories, content weights, and number of items/points recommended by committees of Georgia educators for the new assessment. The blueprints for other content areas have been updated to include the approximate number of points for each reporting category. 
    • Assessment Guides are provided to acquaint Georgia educators and other stakeholders with the structure and content assessed on the End of Grade (EOG) measures.
    • Study/Resource Guides serve as a resource for parents and students.
    • Understanding the Georgia Milestones Achievement Levels
      • Four Levels:
        • Beginning Learner
        • Developing Learner
        • Proficient Learner
        • Distinguished Learner