Georgia Milestones End-of-Course (EOC)

  • The Georgia Milestones Assessment System (Georgia Milestones) is a comprehensive summative assessment program spanning grades 3 through high school.  Georgia Milestones measures how well students have learned the knowledge and skills outlined in the state-adopted content standards in English Language Arts, mathematics, science, and social studies.  

    Features of the 2020-2021 Georgia Milestone Assessment System include:

    • English Language Arts & Mathematics
      • All constructed response (CR) items will be replaced with technology enhanced (TE) items in Math.
      • Some CR items will be replaced with TE items in ELA.
        • Section 1-Reading & Evidence Based Writing and Narrative Writing Prompts will remain unchanged.
        • Section 2 & 3 - Two-point CR (which assess reading comprehension) will be replaced with technology items.
    • Science & Social Studies
      • These content areas will remain all selected response in 2022-2023.

    High school students take an end-of-course assessment for each of the eight courses designated by the State Board of Education.  Students at the high school level will take an end-of-course assessment in the following eight courses:

    • Language Arts
      • American Literature and Compositio
    • Mathematics 
      • Algebra I
    • Science
      • Biology
    • Social Studies
      • United States History

    Middle school students who are enrolled in one or more of these courses are required to take the associated end-of-course (EOC) measure. If enrolled in a mathematics and/or science EOC course, these middle school students will not take the corresponding content area end-of-grade (EOG) measure.  Each school district selects a local testing window, based on their local school calendar, from within the state-designated testing window.

    For more information visit the Georgia Department of Education.

    EOC Resources:

    • Test Blueprints have been updated for all grades and content areas/courses. The blueprints for science and social studies reflect the reporting categories, content weights, and number of items/points recommended by committees of Georgia educators for the new assessment. The blueprints for other content areas have been updated to include the approximate number of points for each reporting category. 
    • Assessment Guides are provided to acquaint Georgia educators and other stakeholders with the structure and content assessed on the End of Course (EOC) measures.
    • Study Resource Guides serve as a resource for parents and students.  
    • Understanding the Georgia Milestones Achievement Levels - the four achievement levels on Georgia Milestones are Beginning LearnerDeveloping LearnerProficient Learner, and Distinguished Learner.