Return to Headlines

WCS achieves 2021 Exemplary School Board Status

The 2021 Whitfield County Board of Education is made up of five members. Four of the members represent one of four voting districts with a fifth member serving at-large to represent the entire school district. In the photo, from left, are Ron Johnson, Chairman Bill Worley, Carolyn Weaver, Joseph Farmer, and Vice Chairman Jamie Johnson.

Whitfield County Schools is proud to announce the achievement and status of the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA) 2021 Exemplary School Board recognition. This is the second consecutive year the Whitfield County Board of Education has received this honor. The recognition program is designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership.

GSBA recognizes good school board governance to foster educational community cultures in order to advance student learning and achievement. This year, only 60 of the 180 public school boards earned the Exemplary Board status.

The Whitfield County School Board met and/or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn the honor of a 2021 Exemplary Board. The criteria may be reviewed by clicking here for more information.

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize exemplary leadership.

In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.

The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-tiered program. For more information on the program you may visit the GSBA website for awards and recognition or click here to view the criteria for all tiers of the program.